"It's hardly 

to be doubted that the love

to humans has become an instinct in

the dog."

Charles Darwin

 

 

At this point we would like to thank, and we are sure every "Conti" lover will agree, Imelda Angehrn, the founder of the breed,  for her courage and perseverance!

All other responsible Continental Bulldog breeders also deserve respect of course.

Formation

Imelda Angehrn, the founder of the breed Continental Bulldog

Presumably Imelda at that time never assumed that she will go down in the cynological history, certainly not with bulldogs! Her breeder's heart belonged to the Newfoundland.

It took many years for her husband Peter Angehrn to persuade her to visit an English Bulldog breeder, because Peter Angehrn had been wishing for some time to have an English Bulldog.

Well, as we all know, you can not resist the sight of a Bulldog puppy and the first English Bulldog, called Jonny, moved in with the  Angehrn family. It was clear Jonny should not be on his own for long so a lady called Hexli came along very quickly.

In 1966 the kennel "Pickwick" of the Swiss family Angehrn celebrated its first anniversary and the first English Bulldog puppies were born.

The health of her animals has always been important to Imelda. She has been trying to breed a lighter type of English Bulldog to improve respiratory and birthing problems. However, their attempts did not show the desired success.

This was made even more difficult by the fact that many of these lighter dogs were not approved for breeding because they were not deemed "very good" at exhibitions.

To top it off the lighter, free-breathing male dog was disqualified because he did not run in typical breed style. Imelda was very furious and decided to change something fundamentally.

In addition, at the beginning of the 2000s a discussion started in Switzerland about stricter animal laws and breeding regulations which should supplement the existing European Convention on the Breeding and Housing of Pet Animals. Part of the of the new breeding regulations said it was now “prohibited to create and keep animals with certain characteristics, in particular abnormalities in physique and behaviour ...". Thus, various breeds of dogs became endangered and were destined to disappear as an official breed. Imelda realised the English Bulldog was in danger too.

 

She consulted her friend, Dr. Hans Räber, and other cynologists and came to the conclusion that selection alone would not significantly improve the health of the English Bulldog. Only by crossing similar dogs the desired improvements would be achieved. 

So in collaboration with other well-known cynologists Imelda tried to get permission to cross the English Bulldogs with other Bulldog breeds. The motivation of Imelda was to breed a medium-sized bulldog which would do justice to all animal welfare regulations in order to later be used again.

Carefully selected, allied dogs became the cornerstone of the crossbreeding schemes, which were provisionally granted by the SKG in the year 2000 for three generations.

In 2001, the first intersection litter fell.

The results in terms of improving health were a great success.

However, a backcross in the English Bulldog failed due to the hostile attitude by the standard-giving country England.

Because of her commitment, Imelda quickly became a thorn in the side of the entire English Bulldog world. Titled as a nest spew, she was often hostile and eventually relieved of some honorary memberships.

But Imelda continued to pursue the goal of breeding healthy dogs.

Since the results and response were so great, in 2004 the SKG approved the breed as a new breed under the name Continental Bulldog. In the same year, the Continental Bulldog Club Switzerland (CBCS) was founded and already in 2005 the breed standard, as well as the CBCS breeding order was approved by the SKG..

Despite these hurdles, Imelda always believed in her goal, fought hard for the same and never gave up. In the end she had success.

Career

For a new breed, the FCI (Federation Cynologique Internationale, the world's largest cynological umbrella organization) demands eight bloodlines, which in the last three generations can not have a single common ancestor.

To meet these requirements it takes an enormous breeding material, a lot of time and a lot of commitment.

All this was done by the Angehrn family in record time.

Back in 2011, Imelda personally presented to the Executive Director the FCI eight folders on the required eight bloodlines, including all scientific considerations for the breed Continental Bulldog, to allow the breed to be recognised internationally.

But the FCI, which should have shown interest in a healthier Bulldog, delayed the permit for unexplainable reasons.

In 2014, the application for acceptance of the Swiss standard Continental Bulldog was unfortunately rated negative by the FCI Executive Board. The submitted documents were dubbed exemplary in their evaluation. Although SKG / CBCS had always deliberately renounced comparison with the English Bulldog, this was used by the competent commissions (standard and scientific) as well as the board of the FCI as an argument to be rejected. Despite clear specifications as to which conditions and criteria must be fulfilled when a member country wishes to apply for recognition the FCI states in its execution that it is reluctant to recognize and confirm new races.

To our great pleasure the Continental Bulldog is a VDH nationally recognized dog breed since 2015. Now it is also up to us breeders to further consolidate the type, the health values ​​and the essence of the “Contis” in order to breed a uniform breed image over the next generations.

We must responsibly handle Imelda Angehrn's life's work and continue to breed healthy, agile dogs of excellent character in hope that FCI's recognition of the breed will succeed in the short term.

© 2020 Grümmer's. Created with Wix.com

"Es ist wohl

kaum zu bezweifeln,

dass die Liebe zum Menschen beim Hund

zu einem

Instinkt

geworden ist."

Charles Darwin

 

 

An dieser Stelle möchten wir, wie vermutlich jeder "Conti" Liebhaber, uns von ganzem Herzen bei der Rassebegründerin, Imelda Angehrn für ihren Mut und ihr Durchhaltevermögen bedanken!

Aber auch weiteren verantwortungsvollen Continental Bulldog Züchtern gehört Respekt gezollt.

Entstehung

Imelda Angehrn, die Begründerin der Rasse Continental Bulldog

Vermutlich ist Imelda damals nie davon ausgegangen, dass sie einmal in die kynologische Geschichte eingehen wird, schon gar nicht mit Bulldoggen! Ihr Züchterherz gehörte nämlich früher einmal den Neufundländern.

Erst nach vielen Jahren konnte ihr Mann Peter Angehrn sie dazu überreden einmal einen English Bulldog Züchter zu besuchen, denn Peter Angehrn wünschte sich schon länger einen English Bulldog.

Tja, wie wir alle wissen, kann man beim Anblick eines Bulldog Welpen nicht widerstehen und der erste English Bulldog, genannt Jonny, zog im Hause Angehrn ein. Natürlich sollte es nicht bei einem bleiben und so kam schnell noch ein Dame namens Hexli dazu.

Im Jahre 1966 feierte die Zuchtstätte "Pickwick" der schweizer Familie Angehrn dann ihr erstes Jubiläum und die ersten English Bulldog Welpen erblickten das Licht der Welt.

Die Gesundheit ihrer Tiere lag Imelda schon immer am Herzen und so versuchte sie einen leichteren Typ English Bulldog zu züchten, um die Atem- und Geburtsprobleme zu verbessern. Jedoch zeigten ihre Versuche nicht den gewünschten Erfolg.

Ihr wurde dieser Weg noch dadurch erschwert, dass viele dieser leichteren Hunde nicht zur Zuchttauglichkeit zugelassen wurden, weil ihnen auf Ausstellungen das "sehr gut" vergönnt wurde.

Als dann noch auf einer Bundessiegerausstellung der einzige leichtere, frei atmende Rüde disqualifiziert wurde, weil er nicht rassetypisch laufe, war für Imelda das Fass übergelaufen und sie beschloss grundlegend etwas zu ändern.

Zudem entfachte Anfang der 2000er Jahre in der Schweiz eine Diskussion über verschärfte Tiergesetze und Zuchtbestimmungen, welche die bestehende Europa-Konvention über Zucht und Haltung von Heimtieren ergänzen sollte. Anliegen der Erweiterung der Zuchtbestimmungen war es unter anderem „das Erzeugen und Halten von Tieren mit bestimmten Merkmalen, insbesondere Abnormitäten im Körperbau und Verhalten…“ zu verbieten. Somit waren verschiedene Hunderassen in ihrer Zucht gefährdet und in der Gefahr als offizielle Zuchtreihe zu verschwinden. Diese Gefahr sah Imelda auch bei dem English Bulldog.

 

Sie holte sich Rat bei ihrem Freund Doktor Hans Räber, sowie weiteren Kynologen und kam zu der Erkenntnis, dass Selektion alleine die Gesundheit des English Bulldog nicht maßgeblich verbessern wird. Lediglich durch Einkreuzen artverwandter Hunde würden die gewünschten Verbesserungen erzielt werden.
So bemühte Imelda sich in Zusammenarbeit mit namhaften Kynologen um die Bewilligung zur Kreuzung von English Bulldogs mit anderen Bulldog-Rassen. Die Motivation von Imelda war es einen mittelgroßen Bulldog zu züchten, welcher allen Tierschutzbestimmungen an einem gesunden Hund gerecht würde, um selbigen später wieder einzukreuzen.

Sorgfältig ausgewählte artverwandte Hunde wurden der Grundstein der Kreuzungswürfe, die im Jahre 2000 vom SKG vorläufig für drei Generationen bewilligt wurden.

Im Jahr 2001 fiel der erste Kreuzungswurf.

Die Ergebnisse in Bezug auf die Verbesserung der Gesundheit waren ein großer Erfolg.

Eine Rückkreuzung in den English Bulldog scheiterte jedoch an der ablehnenden Haltung durch das Standard gebende Land England. 

Auf Grund ihres Engagements wurde Imelda sehr schnell der gesamten English Bulldog Welt ein Dorn im Auge. Betitelt als Nestbeschmutzerin wurde sie häufig angefeindet und  schließlich einiger Ehrenmitgliedschaften enthoben.

Aber Imelda hielt weiterhin an dem Ziel fest gesunde Hunde zu züchten. 

Da die Resultate und Resonanz so groß waren, bewilligte der SKG im Jahre 2004 die Zucht der neuen Rasse unter dem Namen Continental Bulldog. Im selben Jahr wurde der Continental Bulldog Club Schweiz (CBCS) gegründet und schon 2005 wurde der Rassestandard, sowie die CBCS-Zuchtordnung vom SKG genehmigt.

Trotz der vielen Hürden, hat Imelda immer an ihr Ziel geglaubt, dieses eisern verfolgt und hatte am Ende doch Erfolg.

Werdegang

Für eine neue Rasse verlangt die FCI (Fédération Cynologique Internationale; der weltweit größte kynologische Dachverband) acht Blutlinien, die in den letzten drei Generationen keinen einzigen gemeinsamen Ahnen haben dürfen.

Um diese Vorgaben zu erfüllen, braucht es ein enormes Zuchtmaterial, viel Zeit und sehr viel Engagement.

All dies leistete die Familie Angehrn in Rekordzeit.

Bereits im Jahre 2011 legte Imelda persönlich dem Executive Director die FCI acht Ordner über die geforderten acht Blutlinien inklusive aller wissenschaftlichen Betrachtungen zu der Rasse Continental Bulldog vor, um die Rasse international anerkennen zulassen.

Aber die FCI , die ja an einem gesünderen Bulldog interessiert sein müsste, verzögert die Bewilligung aus unerklärlichen Gründen.

Im Jahr 2014 wurde der Antrag um Aufnahme des Schweizerstandards Continental Bulldog vom FCI-Vorstand dann leider negativ bewertet. Die eingereichten Unterlagen wurden in ihrer Bewertung als mustergültig betitelt. Obwohl SKG/CBCS in ihrer Begründung immer auf den Vergleich zur English Bulldogge bewusst verzichtet hatte, wurde dies jedoch von den zuständigen Kommissionen (Standard und Wissenschaft), wie auch dem Vorstand der FCI als abzulehnendes Argument verwendet. Trotz klarer Vorgaben, welche Voraussetzungen und Kriterien zu erfüllen sind, wenn ein Mitgliedsland ein Anerkennungsgesuch stellen will, gibt die FCI in ihrer Ausführung an, dass sie zurückhaltend mit der Anerkennung und Bestätigung von neuen Rassen ist.

Zu unserer großen Freude ist der Continental Bulldog

seit 2015 eine vom VDH national anerkannte Hunderasse. Nun liegt es ebenfalls an uns Züchtern den Typ, die Gesundheitswerte und das Wesen des Contis weiter zu festigen, um über die nächsten Generationen ein einheitliches Rassebild zu züchten.

Wir müssen verantwortungsvoll mit dem Lebenswerk von Imelda Angehrn umgehen und weiter gesunde, bewegliche Hunde von ausgezeichnetem Wesen züchten, in der Hoffnung, dass die Anerkennung der Rasse durch die FCI auf kurze Sicht gelingt.

© 2020 Grümmer's. Erstellt mit Wix.com