"A dog reflects

the family.

Who ever saw

a cheerful dog in

a morose family or a sad one in

a happy one?

Grumpy people have grumpy dogs, dangerous people dangerous."

Arthur Canon Doyle

Continental Bulldog - VDH Standard No. 993

 

Nationally recognized by the VDH breed

FCI Group 2 (breed not FCI approved)

Standard No. 993

Country of origin: Switzerland

Use: companion dog, family dog

Classification FCI:

Group 2 Pinscher and Schnauzer - Mollosser -

Swiss Mountain Dogs

Section 2 Molossoids, Mastiff type without working trial

Historical Summary

The European Convention for Breeding and Housing of Pet Animals, as well as the Swiss Animal Protection Act (Art.10) were the deciding factors for the start of a breeding attempt. The aim of this experiment was to create a medium-sized bulldog that fulfils all the requirements for a healthy dog ​​required by animal welfare and still maintains the esteemed and beloved nature of the English Bulldog.
The crosses between English Bulldog and Old English Bulldog, under the patronage of the Swiss Cynological Society, were very promising, but soon showed that the endeavour was to create a new breed, a breed close to the original type of Bulldog, for a clear distinction from the English Bulldog. The name "Continental Bulldog" was chosen for the new breed. The decisions and measures for the formation of the new breed were made in consultation with the FCI (Representatives of the Standard and Scientific Commissions).
The fact that there is still no reliable, medium-sized family dog ​​of the Molosser type, although very desirable, testify the many enthusiastic lovers of the young breed. The Continental Bulldog is ready to fill this gap.
Source: VDH breed standard

General

Appearance

A short-haired, athletic-built, medium-sized, almost square, bulldog-type dog.
Despite its strong physique, the Continental Bulldog is agile and persistent, even when trotting fast or galloping they should breathe noiselessly. Their weight is approximately between 20 - 30 kg depending on the size.
Males and females should have clear gender.

Important proportions:

Height at the withers: chest depth 2: 1

Height at withers: body length 1: 1,2

Height at withers: length from withers to tail 1: 1

These dimensions and proportions are to be understood as guidelines, the decisive factor is always the overall impression of a dog.

The bulldog type must be respected.

Behaviour and character (essence):

Attentive, confident, friendly, neither aggressive nor shy.

Source: VDH breed standard

© 2020 Grümmer's. Created with Wix.com

"Ein Hund spiegelt

die Familie.

Wer sah jemals einen munteren Hund in einer verdrießlichen Familie oder einen traurigen in einer glücklichen?

Mürrische Leute haben mürrische Hunde, gefährliche Leute gefährliche."

Arthur Canon Doyle

Continental Bulldog - VDH-Standard Nr. 993

 

National durch den VDH anerkannte Rasse

FCI-Gruppe 2 (Rasse nicht FCI-anerkannt​)

Standard-Nr. 993

Ursprungsland: Schweiz

Verwendung: Begleithund, Familienhund

Klassifikation FCI:

Gruppe2 Pinscher und Schnauzer - Mollosser -

Schweizer Sennenhunde

Sektion 2 Molossoide, Doggenartige Hunde ohne Arbeitsprüfung

Geschichtlicher

Abriss

Die Europa-Konvention über Zucht und Haltung von Heimtieren, sowie das schweizerische Tierschutzgesetz (Art.10) waren ausschlaggebend für den Start eines Zuchtversuches. Ziel dieses Versuches war es, einen mittelgroßen Bulldog zu schaffen, der alle vom Tierschutz geforderten Voraussetzungen an einen gesunden Hund erfüllt und trotzdem das so geschätzte und beliebte Wesen des English Bulldogs beibehält.
Die Kreuzungen zwischen English Bulldog und Old English Bulldog, unter dem Patronat der Schweizerischen Kynologischen Gesellschaft, waren sehr viel versprechend, zeigten aber bald, dass das Unterfangen auf die Schaffung einer neuen Rasse hinaus lief, einer Rasse, die dem ursprünglichen Typ des Bulldogs nahe kommt. Zwecks klarer Abgrenzung zum English Bulldog wurde für die neue Rasse der Name „Continental Bulldog“ gewählt. Die Entscheide und Maßnahmen zur Bildung der neuen Rasse wurden in Absprache mit der FCI (Vertreter der Standard- und der Wissenschaftlichen Kommissionen) getroffen.
Die Tatsache, dass es noch keinen belastbaren, mittelgroßen Familienhund vom Molosser-Typ gibt, dies aber sehr erwünscht wäre, bezeugen die vielen, begeisterten Liebhaber der noch jungen Rasse. Der Continental Bulldog ist bereit, diese Lücke zu füllen.
Quelle: VDH Rassestandard

Allgemeines

Erscheinungsbild

Ein kurzhaariger, athletisch gebauter, mittelgroßer, fast quadratischer, bulldogartiger Hund.
Trotz seines kräftigen Körperbaus ist der Continental Bulldog beweglich und ausdauernd, auch bei raschem Trab oder Galopp soll er geräuschlos atmen. Sein Gewicht bewegt sich ungefähr zwischen 20 - 30 kg je nach Größe.
Rüden und Hündinnen sollen deutliches Geschlechtsgepräge haben.

Wichtige Proportionen:

Widerristhöhe : Brusttiefe 2 : 1

Widerristhöhe : Körperlänge 1 : 1,2

Widerristhöhe : Länge von Widerrist bis Rutenansatz 1 : 1

Diese Maße und Proportionen sind als Richtlinien zu verstehen, maßgebend ist immer der Gesamteindruck eines Hundes.

Der Bulldog-Typ muss gewahrt werden.

Verhalten und Charakter (Wesen):

Aufmerksam, selbstsicher, freundlich, weder aggressiv noch scheu.

Quelle: VDH Rassestandard

© 2020 Grümmer's. Erstellt mit Wix.com